Municipal Court

Hours of Municipal Court are 8:30 Am to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday. Court is scheduled on Mondays at 5 PM. The Municipal Court is a local court created by State law. Practice and procedures are governed by New Jersey Court Rules. The Municipal Court Judge is responsible for overseeing the administration of the Municipal Court.

Contact the Municipal Court office for Zoom instructions.

Cases heard in Municipal Court are divided into four general categories:

  1. Violations of Motor Vehicle and traffic laws.
  2. Violations of disorderly and petty disorderly persons offenses.
  3. Violations of Fish and Game laws, Parks and Forests, Weights and Measures, SPCA and Boating regulations.
  4. Violations of Municipal Ordinances (local laws).

More serious offenses, known as indictable offenses, are arraigned in Municipal Court but then sent to the County Prosecutor’s Office.

Each municipality appoints its own Municipal Court Judge. An Informational Guide is available in the office.

For helpful information regarding the court system, to pay a payable traffic summons, to check on your court date or for information regarding points which maybe assessed to you or a result of your traffic summons, please go to the New Jersey Judiciary Home Page at


Frequently Asked Questions:

+ - What are my legal rights in municipal court?
+ - Do I need a lawyer?
+ - Who is entitled to the public defender?
+ - Can I just pay summons?
+ - How do I enter a plea of not guilty?
+ - When is a court appearance required?
+ - What is the proper courtroom etiquette?
+ - What happens on your day in court?
+ - In what order are cases called?
+ - What happens during a trial?
+ - What is a plea agreement?
+ - What are the possible penalties?
+ - What is a Conditional Discharge?
+ - How can I appeal my case?
+ - What is mediation?
+ - How is bail handled?
+ - Are interpreters available?

Municipal Court

Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8:30 AM to 4:30 PM
(609) 641-0663 ext. 129
(609) 641-8456
Municipal Court Judge
John Rosenberger
Court Administrator
Merrilee Carlson
Deputy Court Administrator
Teresa Altagracia