Tax Collector

The Tax Collector’s office is the face of the community, meeting taxpayers on a regular basis, eight or more times a year for tax and sewer payments, giving information and assisting property owners in a friendly and courteous manner.

It is responsible for the billing and collection of property taxes that support the three governmental units: Atlantic County, Absecon School District, and the City of Absecon. It administers property tax deductions for senior citizens, disabled persons and veterans for those eligible. Also available to the public is information pertaining to the various New Jersey State Reimbursements Programs.

The Sewer Department is located in the tax office for the convenience of the taxpayers.

The Tax Collector enforces payment of tax delinquencies through the tax sale process. The tax sale is held in the tax office usually in the month of March. The tax sale list is published in The Mainland Journal four weeks prior to the tax sale.

All affidavits for expenses must be filed with the Tax Collector by the lien holders. All tax sale redemptions must take place through the Tax Collector’s office.

In the City of Absecon, the Tax Collector is the Tax Search Officer.

Tax bills are issued in June and are payable quarterly on the first of August, November, February and May. Late charges are added after the 10 th day of the month due. Interest of 8% is charged up to $1,500.00 and 18% over $1,500.00 delinquency until taxes are paid current. A penalty of 6% is charged on any delinquency of excess of $10,000.00, if not paid by the end of the year.

The sewer bills are issued in November for the following year and are payable on the first of January, April, July and October. A flat penalty of $5.00 per quarter, per EDU, is charged if not paid within 10 days of the due date.

Tax and sewer payments may be made in person or by mail. If paying by mail and a receipt is needed, a self-addressed, stamped envelope must be enclosed with the payment.

There is a drive up window for current tax and sewer payments.

For after hour payments, and other City correspondence, there is a brown mailbox located outside the tax office, which is emptied daily.  All payments placed in the afterhours mailbox will be posted on the next business day.

Tax Collector

Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8:30 AM to 4:30 PM
(609) 641-0663 ext. 117
(609) 645-5098
Tax Collector
Jessica A. Snyder, CTC 
Deputy Tax Collector
Joy Lewkowski
Tax Clerk
Ashley Bowden