Form of Government

The City of Absecon is a Mayor and Council form of government. 

NJSA:40A:61-1 et. seq. 

Voters Elect 
Mayor and Council. Partisan 

Organization of Governing Body
First week in January 

The Mayor is selected at-large to a four-year term.  The Mayor is the Chief Executive and may participate in Council deliberations, but only votes to break a tie among the the governing body members. The Mayor can veto ordinances subject to a 2/3 override by Council. The Mayor heads the police department. and appoints, with the advice and consent of Council, subordinate officers and certain board members of the municipality.

Council is the legislative body of the municipality and consists of seven members. Three members each represent Ward 1 and Ward 2 of the City and are elected to staggered three-year terms.  One member is an at-large representative elected to a four-year term.  Council elects one of its members as President to chair Council meetings and perform other duties as presiding officer.  Each Council member heads one of the Council Committees and is a member of two others.  All committees hold a regularly scheduled monthly meeting.  Council is responsible for enacting ordinances, resolutions, adoping the annual budget and setting policy for the municipality. 

The City Administrator is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the City and supervises all City Departments, with the exception of the Police Department.  The Administrator executes and enforces the laws of the State of New Jersey, as well as ordinances and resolutions of the City, and sets and implements policy with the approval and consent of the Mayor and Council. The Administrator attends all Council meetings and Committee meetings as directed.  The Administrator prepares the annual budget, negotiates contracts and ensures compliance.